Posted by: Andrea | December 24, 2008

A Holiday Meme from Meme to Youyou

How’s your Mama ‘n dem? If you’re from New Orleans, you know that’s a greeting that will be heard hundreds of times over the holidays.

I’m finally getting around to posting this fun little holiday meme. The holidays, this year have been a little frazzled, but we’re in the final countdown of Operation Santa Claus and I thought I’d take a moment to share some of our fun traditions.

Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas.

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags?
Both depending on the gift. I love to wrap presents for firstbourne because it is so much fun to watch him tear thru them. A living room full of wrapping paper is one of my fondest memories as a child.

2. Real tree or Artificial?
Both. We purchased an artificial a few years back and they are so easy. Christmas plug and play. But firstbourne usually wants a real tree, so one of our traditions is going to the same Christmas tree farm and cutting down a Louisiana Leyland cypress. It’s a fun time, usually involves a hayride, except for this year, our tree got brought in on a golf cart. It was a hoot. All of us and a 10ft tree on a golf cart was quite a sight!

3. When do you put up the tree?
Usually the first or second week of December

4. When do you take the tree down?
That depends on well we keep the real tree watered. Last year we had to take it down early because it dried out when we were out of town. But otherwise, we like to keep it til after the New Year.

5. Do you like egg nog? Nope, but Ashton loves it

6. Favorite gift received as a child?
My first stereo (the one with a turn table and a 8 track player..lol) and my first computer, of course.

7. Do you have a nativity scene?
Yes, one my mom handmade for my grandmother that got handed down back to me. Each piece is engraved with her name and the date it was made.

8. Hardest person to buy for?
n/a I love to shop

9. Easiest person to buy for?
Alex

10. Mail or email Christmas cards?
Again both

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?

Because I can’t stand to dwell on the negative, I’m passing on this question and replacing it with my own:

Best birthday/Christmas present ever? For my 16th birthday, my mom gave me a Neiman Marcus credit card with a monthly spending limit!! My Mom always made my birthday special, no matter what.

12. Favorite Christmas Movie?
I don’t really have one. Tho I do enjoy the annual Christmas specials like Rudolph, the Red-nosed Reindeer, and Charlie Brown’s Christmas

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? Whenever I see something that would make a good Christmas gift.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?
Nope.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?
Christmas cookies and assorted baked goodies like banana nut bread. I love my Holiday Peppermint mochas from Starbucks!!

16. Clear lights or colored on the tree?
Again, depends on real or fake tree. The fake one has tons of clear ones already on it. But with the real tree, I love the glow of multi-colored mini lights with a string of the big old-fashioned blinking lights.

17. Favorite Christmas song?
Such a Night, by either Elvis or Aaron Neville and Hark the Herald Angels Sing

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?
Usually at home. We try to see my family every other year at the holidays, occasionally drive cross country to see family. Tis always fun when we hit the snowline in the midsection of the great USA.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeers?
Almost , probably, um…no.

20. Angel on the tree top or a star?
A star that Firstbourne and I found together in 2007. He plans to put it atop on Christmas and make that our new tradition this year.

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning?
Christmas Eve. Santa always came after Christmas mass and dinner. Christmas morning was reserved for my birthday, short n simple, my mom always gave me my gift in the morning and then the rest of the day was Christmas. Now we open them Christmas morning, for firstbourne.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of year?
People telling me that I must hate having my birthday on Christmas. I have always felt so honored to share my birthday with the most special day of the year. Just don’t wrap my birthday presents in Christmas paper. Kthxbai.

23. Favorite ornament theme or color?
On the real tree, We put up ornaments that we’ve collected over the years. On the fake tree, we have a magnolia/southern theme with peach and mint green ornaments. We also started collecting birds last year so I have some cardinals and white birds this year.

24. Favorite for Christmas dinner?
Sautéed Chicken breasts and wild rice served with sour cream sauce and peas…Christmas eve dinner tradition. Every.year.

25. What do you want for Christmas this year?
Peace and diamonds. What…I’m a girl.

Responses

  1. I’m with you on the peace and diamonds…I’m a girl too! I enjoyed reading this meme, it’s always fun to learn more about my friends. Merry Christmas!

  2. Oh and I almost forgot! Happy Birthday too!

  3. I love learning things about you – I adore Aaron Neville !!


Leave a Reply

Categories

