Posted by: Andrea | November 26, 2008

Give and You Shall Receive

Yes, we’ve all heard it.  But today really epitomizes it for me.  In light of giving, we also receive.  Today I got to spend the whole day with my dearest childhood friend.  It was an unexpected visit.  We laughed, we cried, we reminisced and we had a wonderful time.  Over the years, having kids, being married, and lives moving along, sometimes it’s hard to find time to connect with the people we love.  Today’s visit was exactly that and a huge blessing.  We get the chance every couple of years, but this visit was just a bonus.

So while I don’t have too much time to be eloquent, I want to say just how grateful and thankful I am to have had a relaxed day like today to spend with friends that I consider family.   Because I live so far away from my family, the holidays can be hard.  I cherish the times like these, and while I know holidays can also be stressful for family  get-togethers, I hope all of you to to find the good in your holiday festivities.  I know it’s there, even when it’s hard to see.

Happy Holidays, and don’t forget to comment to enter today’s Holiday Giveaway!

Responses

  1. Sounds like a fantastic way to spend your day. We all need days like that. Sorry you are not close to your family, I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Thank you. I usually walk away from debates and heady topics when my family is together. I’m surrounded by some hot aired blow hards and I learned at an early age that it’s better to just slip away unscathed. lol
    I wish you and your’s a joyous Thanksgiving.

  3. What a wonderful surprise! Friends are life’s way of atoning for families. I’m so glad that you had some time with loved ones.

  4. This makes me thankful all over again that I was able to move back to this town and be near my best friend while she goes through the turmoil she’s going through right now with Baby S.

    **hugs**

  5. I am so glad to here that you were blessed in such a way. I wish for you blessings in each and every day.

  6. I’m so glad you had a chance to catch up! My best childhood friend lives all the way across the country now and while I wouldn’t count her as my best current friend, she is still one of my closest. I would LOVE to be able to visit her….

  7. Ms A, what a lovely post! I am happy you spent some time with those you love!


Leave a Reply

Categories

