Posted by: Andrea | June 9, 2007

Scrapblog Photo Fun

I’ve found another very cool site to have fun with your personal digital photos. It’s called Scrapblog, and I’m sad to report that I can’t post this really neat scrapblog I created here on WordPress due to their restrictions on such things. (Security, I’m sure, and I guess I understand, but Blogger let’s me do it…hmmm, kind of like when Mom says no, go ask Dad.)

Anyway, scrapblog is quite a neat blogging service. It combines your pictures and words in a very scrapbook-looking way. It really mimics a scrapbook like no other I’ve seen online. You can add embellishments (stickers, backgrounds, text etc.) just like you would sitting at your craft table. It’s free and you can create as many scrapblogs as you’d like, you can share them with your friends via email, website or post it to flickr or facebook. You can build pages by accessing your photos right off your flickr, webshots, yahoo, photobucket or facebook account, or upload them directly from your computer.

It’s easy to set up. The pages are easy to build. The only thing you need to bring with you is your imagination. The one difficulty I had was during my first scrapblog. I tried to publish it and the screen stayed in this loop forever. I ate dinner and came back and it was still trying to publish my 3 pages. So I closed out of that, and lost my work. Next goround, I saved my album first, and then published. Not sure if that did the trick, but the second one saved fine. Whew, I wouldn’t want to have just finished a 12 page book and lost it all.

You can also RSS feed your scrapbooks. Convenient for those families who are tech-savvy and live far away from each other. There’s even an option for including video.

I have to say that is a very fun way to share your family photos, trips, or special occasions. Now if I could only post the album here. bummer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

