Posted by: Andrea | May 21, 2007

Decoding Family Photos

I have just discovered the ‘wonderfulness’ of Picasa photo software. It is super easy. Picasa gets 4 stars from me in usefulness, usability, design, quality and then some. And it’s free. I’ve scanned my hard drives for all my pics, imported a few cd’s, and cropped a few pics.

I’ve also used the ‘basic fixes’. The red-eye fix is easy. Now, I know, you’re thinking, hey, aren’t you a web designer, so all this basic stuff should be easy-breezy. Exactly. It is. When I’m working on an image, I have no problem manipulating it as I see fit. But whenever I’ve tried to clean up my personal digital photos, the memories we all want to preserve, I have found it difficult to make the adjustments I want, like red-eye removal. I have one program that just won’t fool with it and another that has so many options, I forget what I’m going after, even though I can ultimately make the eyes look perfect. It’s not one-click easy.

I admit, I don’t spend a lot of time with personal digital photos, so this is sort of a new area for me, in that sense.

One of the things I don’t do enough of, is share my personal photos with the extended family. Most of the fam lives far away, so it would be great if I could do this easily. Welcome to web albums. Again, I found it 1-click easy to add photos to any album you create, and uploading them to an online album is just as easy. Using the web album online is also easy, adding captions and choosing a photo for the album cover. It’s all very neat and organized and offers more options than I’ll ever need. But I sure like having those options.

I just uploaded a pic from Picasa to blogger and it was supremely easy. I’ve tussled with blogger in the past, trying to get pics to post correctly. Yeah, it worked!

Had I known it could be this fun, my family photos from 2004 wouldn’t still be stuck on the CD’s. Pretty lame for a web designer, but hey, I never seemed to have the time I thought it would take to do all this great stuff.

Leave a Reply

Categories

